Odds & Ends

by elmergantry

Rather than neglected nuggets, this time I thought I would throw in ten of my favourite tracks from across the genres. This came off the top of my head, so to speak.

Andeas Scholl. Ombra Mai Fu: Heard Scholl sing this in concert once and it made grown men weep:

Woody Guthrie. Hobo’s Lullaby: Perhaps my favourite Guthrie performance:

Jimmie Rogers, Dear Old Sunny South by the Sea, I know its corny, but its still a great song:

Hank Williams, Cool Water: This is probably the song that he would have done with Dylan, if he had lived:

Phillippe Jaroussky, ‘A Chloris’: Sublime singing from one of the rising stars of classical music:

Joe Ely, If You were a Bluebird: Definitive performance of a classic Butch Hancock Song…

Johnny Taylor, Rome wasn’t built a day: Underrated but great singer does classic version of Sam Cooke song:

Otis Redding, These Arms of Mine’ Stunning singing…

Claudio Arrau, ‘Das Abends’, Schumann: Classic playing by a master:

Robert Tear, ‘Tom Bowling’ [Britten], One of my favourite Britten arrangements:

Dave Van Ronk, Twelve Gates to the City: A great song by a great singer:

