In The Garden, George Jones, Merle Haggard, Randy Travis

by elmergantry

Was at a gospel choir here in Sydney recently and they did a great version of this country gospel song, which I had not heard before.

This sent me looking for other versions of the song on You Tube yesterday and I came up with these three which are my current favourites. Have placed them in ascending order (the last is my favourite – a magnificent version by Randy Travis – one of those occasions where he finds a song that is worthy of that great country voice. I like the other two, but it would have been good if George Jones had recorded it earlier in his career. His voice is somewhat wavery here, but it adds an air of vulnerability to his version, which fits with the theme of the song.

This is George Jones’ version:

Here is Merle’s Haggard’s version, which has a nice ‘Dixieland’ feel, at times:

This, to my mind, however, stands out as the definitive reading of this great song:

There is also an Elvis’ version, which I mean to check out

