Some Thoughts on Bob Dylan

by elmergantry

At a market here in Sydney recently, I managed to score a copy of ‘More Greatest Hits’ – an album which I had not heard in many years (it has, of course, been superseded by far more comprehensive compilations like ‘Biograph’) but which has a special resonance for me. It was the first Dylan album I ever owned – my late father giving it to me as a birthday present in ’76.

Realised I have been listening to many of the songs on it regularly for some 37 years now and that the best of them (like ‘Don’t Think Twice’, “Maggie’s Farm’, “She belongs to me’ and ‘It’s all over now Baby Blue”) still continue to yield new riches…

To my mind, Dylan is, by a long way, the greatest American songwriter of the last fifty years – and if my criticisms of his recent work here sometimes seem harsh, it is because I am judging it by the standards which he has set…

